Seniors achieve impressive accomplishment for wrestling

nolan2
“My uncles and Grandparents, everybody likes wrestling. I started it when I was really young, so I thought I would just stick with it,” senior Nolan Rowland said. Photo by Jovanna Moore.

Seniors Nolan Rowland and Daniel Rodriguez both earned their 100th win on Gull Lake’s wrestling team.

Rowland received his against Lakeview on Wednesday, January 4 while Rodriguez was awarded on Saturday, January 7, against Bangor at Climax Scott.

Rowland has been a member of the varsity team since his freshman year.

“I started when I was three-years-old,” Rowland said. “It’s fun and everyone in my family has–my uncle wrestled, my Grandpa wrestled and so did a bunch of my cousins, so it’s kind of a family thing.”

Many wrestlers go their entire high school careers without reaching 100 wins. In the high school gym, a banner hangs with all the names of the players who have reached this feat.

“I got my name on the banner and a cool poster,” Rowland said.

Nolan
Wrestling senior night on February 1. Nolan is recognized with his parents and sister. Photo by Jovanna Moore.

Rowland plans to continue wrestling at Alma College as he studies to become a veterinarian. He plans to earn his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) while having a backup plan of becoming a chemistry teacher.    

“I love working with animals. I have been in the Veterinary Science Education for Employment (EFE) for two years now,” Rowland said.

Rodriguez also played on varsity all four years but doesn’t plan on continuing after high school.  

“I can’t say I was really surprised at making 100 wins because I knew I was making good progress year after year,” Rodriguez said.

Rodriguez plans on attending to a compass college of cinematic arts in Grand Rapids to pursue an education in film.

Seniors achieve impressive accomplishment for wrestling

Leave a Reply

